SEC Commissioners Receive Senate Approval

January 16, 2018

For the first time in over two years, the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) will soon have a complete five-member complement. On December 21, the U.S. Senate confirmed Hester Peirce and Robert Jackson as the market regulator’s next commissioners. The vote occurred following Senator Tammy Baldwin’s decision to lift a hold on both nominees after they answered questions on her financial regulatory priorities.

A senior research fellow at George Mason University’s Mercatus Center, Peirce will replace Daniel Gallagher. Jackson, a Columbia University law professor, takes over for former SEC Commissioner Luis Aguilar. Gallagher and Aguilar left the SEC near the end of 2015.

Peirce and Jackson join Chairman Walter Clayton and Commissioners Michael Piwowar and Kara Stein. A swear-in date has yet to be determined.