Firm News

Cathie Stanton and Stephen Farmer Elected to Cherry Bekaert’s Executive Board

calendar iconJune 29, 2015

Cherry Bekaert LLP (“the Firm”) is proud to announce the addition of Cathie Stanton (Tysons Corner, VA) and re-election of Stephen D. Farmer (Augusta, GA) to its Executive Board (“the Board”).

Voted in at Cherry Bekaert’s annual Partners Meeting held June 17-19, 2015, Stanton becomes the second female member in the history of the Firm’s Executive Board. In addition to Farmer, who was first elected to the Board in 2013, she will be part of a seven-person panel that oversees the management, operation and policies of the Firm. Stanton and Farmer will join Firm Managing Partner and CEO Howard J. Kies (Richmond, VA), and Partners David W. Appel (Coral Gables, FL), Eddie Burke (Raleigh, NC), Rob Martin (Richmond, VA) and Brooks E. Nelson (Richmond, VA) on the Board.

As a Tax Partner and the Firm’s National Leader of State and Local Tax Services (SALT), Stanton is a trusted multistate advisor that works extensively with publicly traded corporations and privately owned companies across multiple industries. With over 25 years of experience, her SALT experience includes identifying areas of risk and resolving exposure, entity structuring and design, complex transactional planning, dispute resolution, cash recovery services and performance of due diligence engagements. In addition, Stanton is a member of THInc, Cherry Bekaert’s new specialty practice focused on guiding growth through innovation for clients in the Technology, Health & Life Sciences, and Industrial sectors.

Farmer has been with Cherry Bekaert for over 25 years. Currently Managing Partner of the Firm’s Augusta-Aiken practice, he is known for assisting clients with acquisitions, divestitures, gift and estate tax planning, and corporate reorganizations. Farmer spends most of his time performing business valuations and providing litigation support, including shareholder disagreements, divorce and other business damage claims.

Effective July 1, 2015, Stanton and Farmer will each fulfill a three-year term on the Board.